Team Pete Excellence

PETERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Colo. -- This past week has been a great one to kick off the Year of Leadership's Core Values month.

This article is all about Excellence. On Wednesday, we held our 3rd Quarter Awards Luncheon at the Peterson Club to honor the wing's nominees and quarterly winners. The luncheon and awards ceremony highlighted the very best from the quarter in terms of leadership, self improvement and community involvement. A total of seven awards were presented at this banquet. Nomination selection for the military nominees was based upon leadership and job performance in primary duty, significant self improvement and base or community involvement. Civilian nominees were nominated based on job accomplishments, efficiency and productivity; demonstrated leadership qualities and initiative; self-development and improvements; participation in employee, office, or non-duty Air Force activities; and demonstrated interest and participation in community activities.

The awards categories and winners were:
Civilian Category I: Mr. Jason Matthews, 21st Mission Support Group
Civilian Category II: Ms. Carrie Granzella, 21st Space Wing
Civilian Supervisory Category II: Mr. Kenneth Friesz, 21st Space Wing
Company Grade Officer: Capt. Ronald Feeser, 21st Space Wing
Senior Non- commissioned Officer: Master Sgt. William Arcuri, 21st Mission Support Group
Noncommissioned Officer: Tech Sgt. Michael Henderlong, 21st Mission Support Group
Airman of the Quarter: Airman 1st Class Tess Foster, 21st Mission Support Group

Whether an award winner or a nominee, these Airmen are doing outstanding work for the wing and the Air Force. Their crisp attention to quality and performance will help to ensure that our Air Force remains the preeminent air and space force in the world today. Congratulations to each of you and thank you for your commitment to excellence.

We recently had another Knight win a major command-level award. Burke M. Ferrin of the 21st Civil Engineering Squadron has been named the Air Force Space Command nominee for the 2008 GEICO Public Service Awards in the Fire Prevention and Safety Category. His hard work and selfless dedication is an inspiration to us all. Congratulations, Burke, and good luck as you represent the 21st SW and AFSPC at the Air Force level.

Team Pete was also honored to host a Congressional delegation from Washington D.C. last week. Congressman Terry Everett, a member of the U.S. House of Representatives from Alabama; Bob Degrasse, House Armed Service Committee staff director; and Kari Bingen, HASC professional staff member, came here to meet with members of AFSPC and the 21st SW and to tour the 76th Space Control Squadron. This visit went great, and our Airmen represented the base and Team Pete exceptionally well. Thanks to all of you who made this visit a success.

Last week, we also held our Peterson AFB Airman Leadership School graduation, Team Peterson Senior Non-Commissioned Officer Induction Ceremony and hosted an NCO Academy graduation last week. These ceremonies are extremely important to the development and growth of our NCO leaders, and those honored at these events are well-deserving of our thanks and appreciation.

ALS Class 09-1 graduated 27 Senior Airmen and two Staff Sergeants from Fort Carson, the Peterson Complex, Schriever, and the U.S. Air Force Academy. Master Sgt. Sandra Beard, first sergeant, 76th Space Control Squadron, was the guest speaker at the graduation banquet. ALS is a 24-day program designed to develop our future NCOs with the ability to lead, follow and manage while gaining a broader understanding of the military profession. Kudos to the graduates on this accomplishment; I know you will continue to excel. A special congratulations to Senior Airman Kelani Mendiola, 21st Aerospace Medicine Squadron, for earning the ALS Leadership Award; Senior Airman Samantha Pena, 21st AMDS, for earning both the Academic and Distinguished Graduate Awards; and Senior Airman Cliff Hayes, 21st Security Forces Squadron, for being named a Distinguished Graduate.

On Oct. 30, Tech Sgt. Mark James, 21st Medical Group, earned the highest honor awarded to a graduate, being named the John L. Levitow Award winner at the NCOA graduation. Mark, congratulations on this huge accomplishment.

Finally, I want to mention the Combined Federal Campaign. The CFC's theme this year is "Faces of Change." I want to encourage each of you to give what you can to the charity of your choice to help "¢hange" things for the better in our community, our nation and for the world. The generosity from military personnel and federal employees helps to fight disease, hunger, illiteracy, poverty, homelessness, disaster and many other concerns facing our community, our nation, and the world. The 21st SW 2008 CFC goal was set at $252,000, which was identified as an achievable stretch goal for the 21st SW and its tenant units. To date, donations total $164,733.88 which is 65.4% of our goal.

Have a great week...remember integrity, service, Excellence!